history of fransham farm
Fransham Farm has been a family-owned business since the early 1930s. Nestled in Little Fransham, right in the heart of Breckland, the Norfolk cottages have easy access to Norwich, King’s Lynn and the North Norfolk Coast, with many famous houses nearby such as Sandringham, Oxborough Hall and Felbrigg Hall to name just a few.
The Old Hall itself was built in the 16th Century. Queen Elizabeth 1 stayed at the hall when the wheel came off her coach whilst she was travelling back to London possibly after her visit to Norwich in 1578.
In recognition of the hospitality she received the Hall was permitted to display the Royal Arms which has been cut into the stone at the gable end of the house.
This gable itself features fabulous Octagonal chimney shafts typical of the era. Internally the hall features secret walls and tunnels to the local church which were possibly used as hideouts for priests during the time of the Reformation.
Jenn and John